yay!! i want to know more about other members of Fatshionista, too.... any brave souls? ...okay. i'll start.

I'm a 25-year-old grad student, recently transplanted from Fargo, North Dakota, to Northampton, Mass., to attend Smith College's School for Social Work. Currently procrastinating in the school's library, I can boast eating three Twix ice cream bars in the last hour and a half. I got my undergrad degrees in gender studies and writing, which I used as a journalist and patient advocate in North Dakota's only abortion clinic. But now I'm out in the scary Northeast, looking for friends, adventure, and lovely lesbians who will sweep me off my feet. I enjoy Bananagrams, graphic novels, hammocks, tattoos, serif fonts, and androgyny.

I'm a 24 year old grad student currently squatting in Washington, DC but originally transplanted from Winnipeg, Manitoba to Toronto. My thesis is on aboriginal health libraries and, in general, my focus is disparate, identifiable health services/information. My undergrad degree is in English & Sociology of Health, both of which have come in largely useless. I'm a true in betweenie looking for a real job, a professional wardrobe, and a bit of lovin'. I enjoy knitting, libraries (duh), green anything, government funded social programs, and slurpees.

theoryofgravity: is the condon by the beach you speak of revere beach!?

I enjoyed that, thank you all for the insights :D

I'll follow suit after the first reply and do a mini bio!

27 year old budget scientician, works doing bucket chemistry in a brewery lab until I am made redundant in two years. I live in Leeds, England in a very cold basement flat with my manfriend of nearly 7 years. I studied Environmental Science, but am currently unsure of my new direction. I wear a UK22, try to recondition clothes, love noisy things, happy people, old vinyl, fluffy kittens, rock music, big hugs and large glasses of spirits.

Thanks for this, I totally didn't know some of these people were mods!


It is really lovely to see you all! I didn't know that I knew so many of you! Bravo for the work you do!
It is TRULY appreciated!

I also really enjoyed this. Thanks for taking this time to write this up and the lovely photos. So many cool women.

I love how I had no clue that onceupon co-wrote a book that is apparently available at the bookstore in which I am employed. How did I miss this?!

Oh, geez, guess where it's shelved at Borders?-- "Weight Loss & Other Diets" ::Groan::

Thank you for putting this together! As a new member, it's great to have updated mod info. Love this community!

at 5'10 and size 20/22 i will now be using the term fatazon. awesome stuff.

OT...Jane Russell Love her!

Hmmm, let's see. :O

Wakasume is an 18 year old physics student in Canada. When she isn't cooking, she's window shopping at many online stores and outlets from Asian countries, or hanging out in Montreal with her live-in boyfriend of 2 years. If not obsessing over fashions, she's geeking herself away with her wii or playstation 3. She's currently unemployed, but that will be changed during the course of the summer.

Aaaand she's a size 16/18! :3

This post gets two whole cakes for clarity and another two whole cakes for hotness quotient :)

I'd love to hear some more about all of the fabulous fatshionistas around these parts!

lieks_rocks is a 24 year old straight, white (easily-sunburned) female currently working as an administrative superstar. She has a geology degree (she lieks rocks), and will be going back to school in the fall to pursue a MSc. Besides this, she draws, makes jewelry, cooks like a pro and eats cakes (cup and regular). She lives in Alberta, Cannuckia with her boyfriend and two (stupid, but adorable) cats.

"Fatazon" is her new favorite word. :3

Ooh! I'm enjoying reading everyone's quickie bios...so I'll do one, too!
I'm 31, married gal from Sunnyvale, CA. I wear a 28/30 (depending) and am 5'4" and somewhere between 300 and 330 lbs (I think). AND I'll be opening my very own (and first) cafe in San Bruno this summer! Fatshionista has seriously improved my quality of life! =0)

Joining in!

I'm 25, straight and single, the latter not changing anytime soon due to life events: I'm in the middle of my master's thesis in history (medieval queendom through the lens of Guinevere). I also work fulltime as a grants assistant, so I can quite honestly say that indirectly I'm helping to find a cure for cancer. ;) I'm 5'10", 20/22, and size 12 feet. In my spare free time, I like to make jewelry, read for pleasure, and watch movies. I also crochet and knit, with varying degrees of skill.

Medieval queendom! That's really awesome. I know it's sort of weird to bust in as a stranger and be like "I want to read your thesis", but that topic is too cool!

I neeed to join in :)

I'm 22, living in Brooklyn. I'm a baker by profession -- surrounded by cupcakes all day! I'm 5' and wear a 14/16, moreso on the 16. Loving that I found this community via Jezebel and look forward to posting on my own soon!

Joining in as well!

losertracer is a 22 year old about-to-be graduated student recently relocated to San Francisco. she loves her boyfriend of almost three years, coffee with an obsessive amount of vanilla creamer, Tim Gunn, lusting after shoes she'll never wear, and loving LOST. I'm 5'6", 270-ish, and size 11 feet. big boobies, nice calves, giant jiggly belly. currently debating selling all of my dresses despite my never-ending quest to find pants that fit. after a stupid start to the year (family deaths), I hope to start posting more outfits and do my first Friday sales post (us graduated unemployed kids gotta eat)!

yess vanilla creamer!! I secretly add it to my coffee at work so none of my coworkers give me crap about how much I add :)

Loving this! FoolishFiddler is a white, 43 year old radical spinster living in St. Louis. She has a B.A. in theater arts and a M.M. in choral conducting. She was laid off from her job as a customer service supervisor for an evil cell phone company last November, and has since been able to obtain a very part-time job as a music director for a small Methodist church. In her spare time (who am I kidding, all I've GOT is spare time! :-) she plays old-time and bluegrass fiddle, sings, is re-learning guitar, and reads about Victorian history. She is 5'8", 330-ish, and wears a size 30/32.

"Radical spinster", I love it! I'm totally stealing that and using it for myself.

ill join in, im new so might as well introduce myself :D

22, just finished photography school. working as a wedding photographer now.. for a studio at first, then hopefully moving on to work for myself. also work making coffee in a bookstore. which im not allowed to blog about. hah. um whateelse. addicted to pasta, and more recently french manicures. 5'0, completely unaware of my weight, wear between twelve and sixteen most of the time.

how fun!

I'm a 24 y/o married lady in NW Arkansas area which is very hippie-tastic and community oriented. I have a bachelor's in fine arts in theatre for costume design/technology and I'm a seamstress that sells online (etsy) as well as locally. I also hold sewing classes bi-monthly. I enjoy putting pretty things in my hair, corsets, victorian, medieval, and renaissance history... I am guilty of WoWing and baking way too much. My measurements are 47-40-50, I'm a XL-XXL on top and a 18-22 on bottom.

haiii!

There is no such thing as too much baking.

Carry on.

Kuddos to the mods!

I'll join in as well!

smoopy_bitch is a 27 year old educator and activist, especially in the areas of social justice here and abroad, emphasis on homelessness and power of women. She teaches Global Studies and Speech at an all girls school (she loves it), and is the Director of Forensics, which surprisingly has nothing to do with dead people. She is owned by two cute kitties and in turn has a pet boyfriend. All of them enjoy watching movies (400+ dvds and 45ish blurays in their collection!), playing board games (especially scrabble) and attending concerts and art events. She's addicted to fashion/recycled clothing and expensive body products (especially Lush!), and the exchange/sale of same. She enjoys cooking homemade meals, trying to be vegetarian, and taking way too many pictures.

*waves* hi mods! Very nice to meet you.

And since everyone else is doing it...

I'm 28, Welsh, 5' and a smidge and 54-44-53 - I'm all bosoms and bum. Medieval history graduate who is about to go back to uni and study geosciences. I play Warcraft, and I make puddings, and I'm going to foster dogs because Staffordshire Bull Terriers are love. I'm one of nature's redheads who happens to not naturally be one, I love corsets and goth/fetishy styles, Vikings (I'm a Fatkyrie), boots, medieval weaponry, and Top Gear. I'm a Mum to three little boys of the rat variety, and I decorate cakes on the side. The Black Minora is my pirate ship. In my dreams, I am a Fatshionista pirate, swashbuckling upon the roaring waves of the seven seas of fashion.

Arrrrrgh, me hearties!

And you all rock.

...nature's redheads who happens to not naturally be one...

LOVE how you put this! I have often said the same "I SHOULD have been redheaded... my SOUL is redheaded!"

Howdy all!

I'm 29 and have spent my entire life deep in the heart of Texas. I spend my days as a professional meeting planner and my nights... well if I told you that I'd have to kill you. I am a wine geek, technophile, bookworm, travel junkie, and addicted to lip gloss. I share my space with two kidlets (boy, 6 and girl, 2) and one domestic partner. Next June he and I will be wed (and per my grandma finally stop living in sin) which is why I am on a seemingly endless search for a wedding dress.

I'm noticing a general theme of global domination among our lovely mods.

I can't wait.

I'm 48, which makes me older than probably 98% of you, so I want all you kids off of my lawn. I'm 5'9", approx. 300 lbs, wearing anywhere from a 24 to a 30 depending on my hormones, my mood, and how many of my two whole cakes I've eaten lately. I'm currently presenting as straight and married to a terrific man. I work in social services (welfare) and play in yarn. I spin, knit, and design socks. I have two grown and beautiful daughters. A bit over a year ago I had a bowling accident that left me permanently disabled. I wish I was kidding. I love photography, writing, and giving people the stink eye and brandishing my cane at them.

My style can best be described as comfort above all. I love bold prints, bright colors, capris and voluminous skirts.

Edited to add that I'm such a feminist that I don't even bother to mention it most of the time, it's pretty obvious to anyone who talks to me for five minutes.

Edited at 2009-06-04 12:25 am (UTC)

socks you say? do you sell said socks? =)

Hi y'all!

I'm 34 and child welfare social worker, with a background as a child/family therapist and HIV researcher (behavioral interventions). I can be a bit on the woo woo side at times, having an MA in transpersonal psychology (undergrad was Women's Studies), but "realistic optimist" best describes me. I've got five cats, a free range cat hair tumbleweed collection and a sexy mister I'm marrying this fall. I knit A LOT (duh), just started sewing, swim and garden. I'm addicted to femme fatshion but in particular pretty dresses, mary jane shoes, vintage brooches and fabulous purses. Oh yeah, I'm 5'4", around 300 lbs and usually wear 24-28.

knitting and social work go together like sardines and ritz crackers, don't they? (fellow knitter/social worker here)

?

Log in